

MOVE Central Arkansas:

A New Public Transit Service Plan

MOVE CENTRAL ARKANSAS BLUE RIBBON COMMISSION MEMBERS

Joel Anderson, UALR John Bacon, eSTEM Public Charter Schools Dr. Jay Barth, Hendrix College

Scott Bennett, Arkansas State Highway and Transportation Department

Brent Birch, Little Rock Technology Park

Mary Bowman, City of North Little Rock

Sericia Cole, Mosaic Templars Cultural Center

Dr. Margaret Ellibee, Pulaski Technical College

The Honorable Gary Fletcher, City of Jacksonville

John Gaudin, Argenta Wealth Management

Gretchen Hall, Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau

Nicole Hart, ARVets

Terry Hartwick, North Little Rock Chamber of Commerce

Patrick Henry Hayes, Community Volunteer

Gabe Holmstrom, Downtown Little Rock Partnership

Colette Honorable, Community Volunteer

The Honorable Barry Hyde, Pulaski County

Sharon Priest, Community Volunteer

Jim McKenzie, Metroplan

Doug Meyer, TerraForma, LLC

Virgil Miller, Arvest Bank

Greg Nabholz, Nabholz Properties

Bobby Roberts, Central Arkansas Library System

Kelly Rodgers, North Little Rock School District

Skip Rutherford, Clinton School of Public Service

Rep. Warwick Sabin, Arkansas Regional Innovation Hub

Deshun Scarbrough, Martin Luther King Jr. Commission

Michael Schwartz, UALR Bowen Law School

Frank Scott, Arkansas State Highway Commission

Barry Sellers, Office of Economic Development,

Sherwood Chamber of Commerce

Diana Shelton, Community Volunteer

Susie Smith, Simmons First National Bank

Rev. Hezekiah Stewart, Watershed Human and Community Development Agency

The Honorable Mark Stodola, City of Little Rock

Rett Tucker, Moses Tucker Real Estate

Floyd G. "Buddy" Villines, Community Volunteer

Troy Wells, Baptist Health

Carolyn Witherspoon, Cross, Gunter, Witherspoon & Galchus, P.C.

The Honorable Virginia Hillman Young, City of Sherwood

MOVE CENTRAL ARKANSAS COORDINATING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

Michelle Anderson, Pulaski Technical College

John Baldwin, Easter Seals Arkansas

Andre Bernard, City of Little Rock

Tony Bozynski, City of Little Rock

Reed Claiborne, UALR Disability Resource Center

Thomas Clarke, Planning and Development, Bill and

Hillary Clinton National Airport

Marcia Cook, Sherwood Chamber of Commerce

Ron Copeland, UALR University District

Casey Covington, Metroplan

Gretchen Hall, Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau

Donna Hardcastle, Argenta Downtown Council

Robert Hayes, City of North Little Rock

Jennifer Herron, Herron-Horton Architects

Jon Honeywell, City of Little Rock

Wanda Horton, Arkansas Disability Coalition

Jessie Jones, Transportation Planning and Policy, Arkansas State

Highway and Transportation Department

Ken Keplinger, City of Sherwood

Todd Larson, North Little Rock Economic Development Corporation

Harrison Maddox, Bicycle Advocacy of Central Arkansas

Richard Magee, Metroplan

Bob Major, North Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau

Don McMillen, Arkansas Highway and

Transportation Department

Buckley O'Mell, Little Rock Regional Chamber of Commerce

Harold Payne, Bus Rider

Margaret Powell, City of North Little Rock

Sharon Priest, Community Volunteer

Lynn Rockenbach, AARP Arkansas

Kelly Rodgers, North Little Rock School District

Bill Ryan, Arkansas State Highway and

Transportation Department

 ${\sf Dan\ Scott, Neighborhood\ Services, City\ of\ North\ Little\ Rock}$

Lou Tobian, AARP Arkansas





MOVE Central Arkansas:

A New Public Transit Service Plan

The MOVE Central Arkansas project is a comprehensive planning effort involving a variety of stakeholders in public transit. The project goal was to develop a vision for Rock Region METRO that addresses service improvements and support central Arkansas' economic development and efforts to provide a dynamic, desirable place to live, work and play. Move Central Arkansas focuses on three key areas: service expansion and improvements, comprehensive and consistent branding and exploring funding opportunities to support the former. Learn more at rrmetro.org/move.

THE PLAN

Bus rapid transit (BRT): Backbone of the system. BRT would begin with two identified corridors in areas with heavy demand:

- Downtown LR-Capitol Complex-Markham/ UAMS/St.Vincent-University/Midtown-12th (Clinton Children's Library/LRCHS/ACH)
- Downtown LR-Capitol Complex-Markham/ UAMS/St.Vincent-University/Midtown/UALR

Eventually, a third corridor could include North Little Rock's Main Street-JFK-McCain corridor

Two North Little Rock crosstown routes:

- 1. North of I-40
- 2. South of I-40

Eliminates need to travel from NLR, to River Cities Travel Center (bus station in LR) and back to NLR for NLR-only departure and destination routes, benefits Pulaski Technical College, Levy/Amboy neighborhoods and other areas

Improved frequencies on important routes: Rather than operating on up to 1 hr, 15 min frequencies, buses would arrive and depart at

15-, 30-,45- and 60-minute intervals

Community shuttles: Would provide local fixedroute service for the first time to Maumelle, Sherwood and Jacksonville; would provide additional service to West Little Rock Flex zones: Would provide on-demand service for less-densely populated areas and feed into nearby mini-hubs

West Little Rock Express: Would provide express bus service for West Little Rock residents commuting to downtown Little Rock from a park and ride location near Chenal Promenade and provide access to growing job markets in West Little Rock

Pulaski County Express Routes Enhancements: Would improve services on county express routes, including mid-day service

Modernized passenger experience: New buses, free WiFi, GPS-based mobile app, bus stop signs with texting system, more shelters

Cost: \$36.9 million, based on existing funding from all funding partners and a guarter-cent sales tax



MOVE Central Arkansas Service Plan

